Students advance to nat'l science fair from regionals

Weyburn Review
March 26, 2014 01:00 AM

The 23rd Southeast Regional Science Fair was held March 20 in the Carnduff Education Complex gym. Over 100 projects were entered by students from Avonlea, Oxbow, and Carnduff.

Two students will advance to the Canada-Wide Science Fair in Windsor, Ontario in May. Wyatt Hubbard of Avonlea won the Ministry of Education award for his project entitled "Catching Bullets". Owen Macpherson of Carnduff won the SaskEnergy Award for his project "Cobalt".

Other awards included: the Saskatchewan Outdoor and Environmental Education Association award to Hailey Plews and Miranda McMunn for their toxic waste project; an Agriculture in the Classroom to Peyton Baglole for a cattle hormones project; and the Science Centre Award given to Owen Macpherson.

The following are a full list of medal winners in each category.

Grade 6 bronze winners were Dusty Bonnor, Meegan Hood and McKinley Stinson. Grade 6 silver winners were Gina Bayliss and Abby Phair. Grade 6 gold winners were Brendan Thompson and Isaiah Sheedy.

Junior bronze winners were Sydney LaBelle and Tremaine Clarke; Bradly Schlosser; Carter Henderson; Brett Bonneteau; Jocelyn Jensen; Olivia Woodrow; Bailey Enger; Rayden McMunn and Thomas Buchanan; and Laci Glennie. Junior silver winners were Afton Taylor and Grace Larson; Nicole Dombosky and Leah Earl (Avonlea); Tegla Jones (Oxbow); Lexi Reid; and Azriel Sheedy and Ashly Myers.

Junior gold was given to Kaden Paton; Leah Macfarlane; and Peyton Baglole.

Intermediate bronze winners were Shanna Cameron and Vanessa Murray; Jolynn Legary and Nikita Durbin; Kiana Earl and Hayley Bendtsen; Carter Phair and Dalton Lemieux; and Hunter Bayliss.

Intermediate silver winners were Taylor Henderson and Bailey Kozma; and Jordan Weinrauch and Josey Rustad (Avonlea).

Intermediate gold winners were Wyatt Hubbard (Avonlea); Owen Macpherson; and Hailey Plews and Miranda McMunn.

Senior bronze winners were Emilie Verity and MacKenzie Henderson; Teague Luhr and Madison Jedel; and Courtnee Taylor and Justine Faux. Senior silver winners were Josh Dedul and Mitchell Annetts; Alyssa Marr and Terri Cameron; and Jadon Carnduff. Gold winners were Connor Paton and Colton Allen; Holli Spittal and Tianna Martin; and Barrett Paton.

© Copyright 2014 Weyburn Review

Email to a Friend


Weyburn Development POLL

How do you think development is progressing in Weyburn?

or  view results

Popular Weyburn News

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.