Last Helen Davidson Music Awards presented

Three local music students were awarded the 2019 Helen Davidson Music Award on Saturday evening at the T.C. Douglas Centre. Tori Mahnke (voice), Bridget Alexander (violin, piano) and Ross Van De Weyer (piano, voice) each received $2,000 to further their music education.

2019 marks the 11th and final year of the Helen Davidson Music Award. The award has been stewarded over the years by a committee of Helen’s friends and former colleagues, Mayvis Goranson, Isabelle Butters, Gloria Miller, June Barber, and Gail Murray.

article continues below

After welcoming the audience of family and friends to the 2019 awards reception, Mayvis Goranson spoke of Helen Davidson’s commitment to teaching music and contributions to Weyburn’s musical community throughout her lifetime. Mayvis also listed the names of the many Weyburn and area musicians that have benefitted from the Helen Davidson Music Award since its inception in 2008.

Gail Murray presented the 2019 awards and highlighted the achievements of this year’s winners. Tori, Bridget and Ross each study at advanced levels in Royal Conservatory of Music programs.

They have won many music awards and participated in festivals, choirs, orchestras, and many school and community music events. Following the presentation of the awards, the young musicians performed a selection of music to showcase their talents, accompanied by Cherith Alexander on piano.

Tori, Bridget and Ross thanked the Helen Davidson Award committee for the generous awards and the opportunity to perform for their family and friends. They acknowledged their wonderful music teachers: Cherith Alexander (piano), Diana Woolrich (voice), and Rudy Sternadel (violin), and the support they receive from their families and the Weyburn community.