Finalists announced for WEYBEX Awards

The Weyburn and District Chamber of Commerce announced the finalists for the 2018 WEYBEX Awards, to be presented by Prairie Sky Co-op, on Friday, May 11, at McKenna Hall.

These finalists personify the excellence and success of Weyburn’s business community.

article continues below

After a rigorous adjudication process, 14 finalists were selected for their excellent business strategies in five categories. The finalists were judged on their application and supporting documents, with strong attention to unique business achievement and engagement.

In the Community Involvement Award category, sponsored by SaskEnergy, the finalists are NSWB, RBC and Crescent Point Energy.

In the Business Leader of the Year Award category, sponsored by PAR Contracting, the finalist is Jeff Chessall, New Age Electronics Inc.

In the Golden Service Award category, sponsored by MNP, the finalists are Kal Tire, The Welsh Kitchen and Bakery, and Pet Valu.

In the Business Hall of Fame category, sponsored by the Weyburn Credit Union, the finalists are: Jack Carleton (Sears), Music Craft, New Age Electronics Inc., and New Dawn Wellness (including Prairie Greenhouse).

In the New or Expanded Business Award category, sponsored by Community Futures Sunrise the finalists are: Iron Bar Fitness, Saba Restaurant (McDonalds), and Vortex Plumbing and Heating.

The Business of the Year Award will be selected from the winners of the following categories: Golden Service, Community Involvement and New or Expanded Business.

The Weyburn Chamber of Commerce presents biennially the WEYBEX Awards to celebrate business excellence in the community. The WEYBEX Awards are aligned with the provincial ABEX Awards, presented by the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce, and a number of Weyburn businesses have gone on from the WEYBEX Awards to be honored on the provincial stage.