New officers sworn in for Weyburn Police Service

Mayor Marcel Roy gave his remarks at the swearing-in ceremony for two new officers and the community safety officer, who were all sworn in at a ceremony on Friday at the Weyburn Police station. The offcers who were sworn in were Philip Clark, Dallas Austin and community safety officer Lisa Robertson, with Weyburn Police Chief Marlo Pritchard at right. Philip and Dallas begin a five-month training course at the Saskatchewan Police College on July 29, and Robertson has begun her duties as a liaison for the Weyburn Police Service, doing some bylaw enforcement and assisting officers wherever she can as they respond to incidents or carry out activities such as a Check Stop. She completed a six-week course at Prince Albert, and began her duties  on June 26. The full story on Weyburn's newest officers will be in the Weyburn Review in the July 31 edition.

article continues below