Weyburn Chamber of Commerce kicks off WEYBEX Awards

The Weyburn Chamber of Commerce announced the kick-off of the 2020 WEYBEX awards on Thursday at Prairie Sky Co-op’s Sud City.

These awards are held bi-annually, celebrating business success in our City and surrounding area. The WEYBEX Awards are open to businesses, organizations, and individuals in the City of Weyburn and immediate area. These awards will be presented during a gala evening, which will take place on May 8, 2020at McKenna Hall in Weyburn.

article continues below

The sponsor representatives present for the announcement included Andrea Bell of Prairie Sky Co-op; Ryan Skjerdal of Vortex Plumbing & Heating; Melissa Swayze of MNP; Michell Giroux of SaskEnergy; Verna O’Neill of Community Futures Sunrise; and Tana Torkelson, Weyburn Credit Union.

The Business of the Year Award is sponsored by Prairie Sky Cooperative.

This award will be presented to one of the winners of the categories of Golden Service, New or Expanded Business and Community Involvement. The Business of the Year will be honoured for an overall commitment to business excellence.

Business Leader of the Year award, sponsored by Vortex Plumbing & Heating. This is awarded to a person who exemplifies the qualities of a business visionary.

Golden Service Award, sponsored by MNP. This award recognizes a local business dedicated to customer satisfaction that consistently demonstrates excellence in the delivery of its products and services.

Community Involvement Award, sponsored by SaskEnergy. Thisis awarded to a business demonstrating outstanding performance in contributing to recreation, amateur sports, arts and culture, health care, education and charitable or
non-profit groups.

New or Expanded Business award, sponsored by Sunrise Community Futures. This is awarded to a business established or expanded in the past three years and demonstrating exceptional performance in terms of expansion into a new product, service, line of business, or in the creation of new markets and/or jobs.

The Business Hall of Fame, sponsored by the Weyburn Credit Union. This award recognizes pioneer and cornerstone business leaders demonstrating long-term excellence and contributing to the economic well-being of Weyburn and area.

Nominations for all of the awards are now open, and the deadline for nominations is April 10, 2020. Nomination forms are available online at www.weyburnchamber.com, or by calling the Chamber office at 306-842-4738.