Election race set for City of Weyburn, Cornerstone board

The City of Weyburn announced the official list of candidates as they will appear on the ballot for the 2020 municipal election on Nov. 9, with three running for mayor and 13 for city council, plus three for the Cornerstone School board.

Nominated for mayor are Nick Coroluick, Marcel Roy (inc.) and Bruce Croft.

article continues below

Nominated for councilor are Dana Pretzer, Jeff Richards (inc.), Trevor Butts, Dick J. Michel (inc.), Melanie Sorensen, Casey Drullette, Dr. John Corrigan, Ryan Janke, John Lawrence, Sheila Sutherland, Mel Van Betuw (inc.), Laura Morrissette and Debra Button.

Nominated for South East Cornerstone School Division board of trustees are Norma M. Hewitt-Lendrum, and incumbents Melanie Sorensen and Brandon Tichkowsky.

The two seats open on the board of trustees for the Holy Family Roman Catholic Separate School Division were declared by acclamation, and incumbent candidates Bruno Tuchscherer and Jerome Sidloski are elected.

According to the resolution of Weyburn City Council, the order of names on the ballot is chosen by random selection. For the 2020 municipal election, the Weyburn Youth Council assisted in the process by drawing names out of a receptacle in council chambers late Thursday afternoon.

The 2020 municipal election will be held on Monday, Nov. 9. The regular poll will be located at the Cugnet Centre (633 King St.) on election day from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

An advance poll will be open at the Sun Room of Weyburn Leisure Centre (532 5th St. NE) on Oct. 31 from 12-5 p.m. and on Nov. 5 from 5-9 p.m.

Eligible electors can also apply to vote by mail-in ballot.

For more information, visit the City of Weyburn election website or contact the Returning Officer at (306) 848-3209 or election@weyburn.ca.