Weyburn’s city election race so far …

The voters in the City of Weyburn will have a selection of names in the 2020 municipal election, with the deadline for nominations by end of day today, Oct. 7. The following are the candidates who have filed as of Tuesday.

For the position of Mayor, the following are the candidates: Nick Coroluick, Bruce Croft and the incumbent, Marcel Roy.

article continues below

For the position of councillor, the following have so far filed their nomination papers for the six available seats: Dick J. Michel (inc.), Dana Pretzer, John Lawrence, Debra Button, Casey Drullette, Melanie Sorensen, Jeff Richards (inc.), Mel Van Betuw (inc.), Ryan Janke, John Corrigan and Laura Morrissette.

For the Southeast Cornerstone Public School board, the candidates so far are Melanie Sorensen (inc.) and Norma M. Hewitt-Lendrum.

For the Holy Family Roman Catholic Separate School board, so far the candidate is Bruno Tuchscherer, incumbent.

Candidates have 24 hours when they are allowed to withdraw their name from the election, so the final list won’t be determined until 4 p.m. on Thursday.

Election day will be Monday, Nov. 9 for the municipal and school board positions.

Advance polls will be held on Oct. 31 from 1-5 p.m., and Nov. 5 from 5-9 p.m., both in the Sun Room at the Weyburn Leisure Centre. The polls are open on Nov. 9 from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m., with a single polling station at the Cugnet Centre.

For those who would like a mail-in ballot, the completed ballots must be in hand at City Hall on Nov. 9 to be counted.

For those interested applying for a mail-in ballot to be sent to them (rather than voting in person), an application must be received in-person by the returning officer by 4 p.m. on Nov. 6. If a voter is registering electronically, applications must be in by Oct. 30.