Comp girls rink wins provincial championship

The Weyburn Comprehensive School’s Team Haupstein, the girls’ curling rink, won gold at the SHSAA girls provincial curling championships held in Nipawin over the weekend. The team includes skip Emily Haupstein, Shayla Moore, Emma Wiens and Abbie Johnson.

The Haupstein rink finished first in the round-robin with a perfect 3-0 record on Friday. They defeated Allan by a score of 8-0, and went on to win 9-7 over Maple Creek and 10-4 over L.P. Miller of Nipawin.

article continues below

This advanced them to the championship round on Saturday, where they defeated Spiritwood by a score of 11-2, and Allan by a score of 13-1 to win the provincial championship.

At the SHSAA boys provincials in Humboldt, Team Field finished fourth overall. The team includes skip Landon Field, Hunter Labbie, Keegan Woodard, Gregg Wiens and Aiden Field.

In the round-robin on Friday, the Field rink lost 6-5 to North Battleford Comprehensive, and won 5-1 over Moose Jaw Central and 7-5 over Humboldt.

This advanced them to the championship round on Saturday, where they lost 5-3 to Regina Campbell, and in the playoff for third place, they lost 8-6 to North Battleford.

Team Nikolejsin finished fourth in their pool in the round-robin and did not advance to the playoff round. The team included skip Ty Nikolejsin, Kane Hooper, Carson Field and Kobe Kmita.

The rink lost 10-4 to Meadow Lake, 6-3 to Bellevue and 8-1 to Regina Campbell.